Tiana Holding

Comment Posts

Posted on: September 13, 2011

Tiana Holdingsays:

Socially – Don’t just go and sit at people’s tables in the cafeteria that you don’t know. It’s awkward and uncomfortable.

Spiritually – Find good friends, because the people around you will impact your spiritual life

Academically – make sure to pencil in some time to study and do hw. Turn things in on time!

tholding says:Your comment is awaiting moderation.

I never knew about Grammar girl before this class, but I have found that it is a very helpful site and i probably will visit it the next time i have to write a paper.
It’s so interesting to read your posts. I like that you put your personality into them. =)

tholding says:Your comment is awaiting moderation.

Good post Johny! I really liked your tip on having an open mind. It is so true, most people come here with the idea that they are going to do one thing and by the end of their college career they have changed their major at least once. God has a funny sense of humor and He does frequently throw you into things you would have never expected. I hope the freshmen are ready!

tholdingsays:

Great tips on writing a good comment Johny! It is really a satisfying feeling when you get a notification that someone has commented on your blog. It makes you know that someone is reading it and it’s not just you.
Also, you may wanna do some proof reading of your post. There were a few typos. =)
-Tiana

tholdingsays:

Johny, Glad to see you have such a positive outlook on things. That’s such a great way to go through life, because if we were to focus on the negative, it would be very easy to get down and depressed. Congratulations on hopefully graduating early. I am gonna be praying for you that you are focused and get your work done.
“Act as if today were your last day to live” – Another good quote to live by.

tholding October 15, 2011 at 11:47 am #

Rachel,
I agree with you on the social media and how you kind of have to search through all the fluff to find the interesting. Even on Pinterest, which I am a new user of but slightly obsessed with, sometimes when you click on the different categories, you have to pass over all the unrelated things to find what you’re looking for. Storify seems like an interesting platform to use and kind of get what you are trying to find right away from all the different social media applications that you use.
This was a very well written post. =)

tholding October 15, 2011 at 11:58 am #

Grammar girl is such an interesting site. I didn’t know about it until this class. I had not even realized some of the things i was doing wrong were wrong. This has opened my eyes to my writing mistakes and i will definitely be using this site in the future for spelling grammar and punctuation tips. Thanks for sharing these tips!

tholding Says: Your comment is awaiting moderation. October 15, 2011 at 11:05 am

Tara,
This was a really well written post! I love the way you spun this. You had me hooked in because i had no idea what you were talking about but it seemed interesting. I saw that this was listed under the topic of the week category but as I started reading your post, i thought to myself, “what week was this?” When i got to your last few sentences i finally saw what you were tying it all into. Great post Tara!

tholding
November 19, 2011 at 1:33 pmedit

Sarah,
That is disappointing to hear. I guess Italian Ice isn’t for everyone, but I do think you should try the custard. My favorite thing they have i believe is called a Gelato. It’s custard with the ice. But i guess if you don’t like the ice at all, you probably wouldn’t like it. But yes, i definitely think you should try the custard. =)

tholdingsays:

This is a great post Johny. I can definitely see how bloggers could not be taken seriously, but as we move forward, blogging is becoming more and more common. Where as blogging wasn’t taken very seriously in the past, I believe these days, people are adopting this idea of blogging into their businesses. WordPress is a great blogging site and I am sure it will become more populated as people take blogging more seriously.

tholdingsays:

Living in a dorm can be great or really bad. These tips are some good ones to give to freshmen looking to live in the dorms. I know when I was first moving in to the dorms, I was glad that I had a friend that was already at the college that could help me with what I needed to bring, and help me settle in to dorm life. It was a good idea to post this!

tholdingsays:

Living in a dorm can be great or really bad. These tips are some good ones to give to freshmen looking to live in the dorms. I know when I was first moving in to the dorms, I was glad that I had a friend that was already at the college that could help me with what I needed to bring, and help me settle in to dorm life. It was a good idea to post this!

tholding on November 19, 2011 at 2:06 PM said: Your comment is awaiting moderation.

Social media can be lots of fun. I used to be really bad about getting on FB all the time and I’ve really cut down the time I spend on there recently. I feel like, as college students, we tend to waste a lot of time on social media sites, so I try not to get too involved. BUT, Pinterest is the newest social media site that I have gotten myself involved in, and I love it. I don’t know if you’ve been on it, but I have found it to be enjoyable, it is also very easy to waste time on. I think it’s more of a girly site but hey, we’re girls. Check it out!

tholding on November 19, 2011 at 2:13 PM said: Your comment is awaiting moderation.

Hey Sarah,
I really liked the way you went about presenting this information, it was very creative! I like the analogy of surfing and then bringing it into how analog reading was different from digital reading. Also, your tip headings are really witty! Great post!
Oh, also i noticed for number 8 you accidentally wrote “your the vocab king” instead of you’re. Make sure you get all your points for grammar ;)

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

This was a great motivational post Katie! Glad to see the use of the blog for something like this. =)

tholding – November 20, 2011 at 4:30 am – the time on this is incorrect. I posted at 11:31 pm on Nov. 19th

tholding November 19, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

Hey Rachel,
I had no idea that you were doing the Japan missions trip! A few of my friends went on this missions trip. I am praying the best for all of you guys out there and i know God will bless this self sacrificing trip!

One Response to “Blogging 101”

tholding November 19, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

Great tips to creating your own blog. I used some of these tips myself. I especially liked your tip about using humor. I always try to write with my own personality so i hope my humor gets across well.

tholding November 19, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

I am very glad you wrote this post. I am currently in Comm Seminar class this semester and my portfolio is coming up to be due very soon so this is a very helpful post for me. Thanks Rachel!

tholding on November 19, 2011 at 11:50 pm said:

Yeah his video completely surprised me I ha no idea that filter bubbles were such a prominent thing. When we watched that video in class I never heard of filter bubbles. I knew that something like it existed but I ad no idea hat it was an actual concept. I agree we should be able to make our own choices and not have things filtered for us.

tholding on November 19, 2011 at 11:57 pm said: Your comment is awaiting moderation.

These are really good tips on writing for digital over analog. I like how you said to make things interactive. I definitely think that digital writing is more interactive than analog. You can be more yourself when writing for digital over analog. There is much more room to put your own personality into your writing.
One good tip that I had forgotten to include was to put your conclusion in the beginning, because that is what people tend to read then kind of skim the rest.
Good stuff Daniel!

Leave a Reply

Categories

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
